Burn After Reading

Burn After Reading

Burn Note by Jacob Robbins enables you to communicate online as privately as a spoken conversation. Each note can be viewed only once and then it is deleted. Deleted notes are completely erased from the Burn Note servers so it impossible for anyone to retrieve them.

This tool is useful for private communication. For example Burn Note can be used to securely send a password. It can also be used to have an off-the-record conversation with a friend.

Before being stored to disk note contents are encrypted using the rijndael-256 module of the PHP mcrypt library. The encryption key is shared across all Burn Notes however if you enter a password when creating a note BN will use your password combined with a random “salt” value as the encryption key. If you do this you have to ensure the recipient has the password or else they won’t be able to read the note. ❚